Mathematical Geophysics Summer School













The Mathematical Geophysics Summer School is an NSF-funded program to be held at Stanford University during the month of August  from 1998-2002.  Its overall purpose is to attract the attention and interest of theoreticians (applied mathematicians in particular) to the many interesting and important problems in geophysics, as well as to define mathematically, address and solve some of these problems.  Topics include Seismic Imaging (1998), Geophysical Tomography (1999), Waves and Inhomogeneous Media (2000),  and Multiscale Theory and Computation with Geophysical Applications (2001).  The topic for 2002 is Imaging. 

For the years 2000-2002 we have changed the format of the Summer School in order to enhance its educational content.  Regarding the scientific content of the lectures, we want to have theory, geophysical applications, interdisciplinary applications, and applications to imaging and inverse problems. We also want to have contact with data and computational tools and methods.

The organizing committee is composed of Greg Beroza (Stanford Geophysics), Jim Berryman (Lawrence Livermore Lab and Stanford Geophysics), Jerry Harris (Stanford Geophysics), George Papanicolaou, Chairman (Stanford Mathematics), and Bill Symes (Rice University Computational and Applied Mathematics), with the close collaboration of Biondo Biondi, Jon Claerbout, Gerald Mavko, and Amos Nur of the Geophysics Department at Stanford.

Participants may be graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, junior or senior faculty, or industrial or government laboratory researchers.  Young applied mathematicians and scientists that wish to enter this field will be given priority.  Financial support for participants in the Mathematical Geophysics Summer School is available. 

Other senior researchers from the San Francisco Bay area and elsewhere that are closely associated with the Mathematical Geophysics Summer School are:  K. Aki (University of Southern California Earth Sciences), M. Campillo (Universite Joseph Fourier, Grenoble), D. Donoho (Stanford Statistics), S. Flatte (UC Santa Cruz Physics), Jean-Pierre Fouque (North Carolina State University), A. Grunbaum (UC Berkeley Mathematics), R. Jeanloz (UC Berkeley Geophysics), L. R. Johnson (UC Berkeley Geophysics), M. Karrenbach (Geophysical Institute, University of Karlsruhe), J. B. Keller (Stanford Mathematics), P. Kitanidis (Stanford Civil and Environmental Engineering), W. Kohler (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Mathematics), T. Lay (UC Santa Cruz Earth Sciences), V. Pereyra (Weidlinger Associates, Los Altos, CA), P. Stark (UC Berkeley Statistics), B. S. White (Exxon Research and Engineering, New Jersey), and R. S. Wu (UC Santa Cruz Earth Sciences).